Friday Blog Hop (sponsored by Crazy-for-Books)

Dear Reader:

Crazy-for-books’ Friday blog hop this week asks “What genre do you wish you could get into but just can’t?”


Book Blogger Hop

Hmmmm…  maybe science fiction.  This isn’t exactly something that keeps me up at night, but I did used to enjoy it a lot.  I read Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, and lost of 50s and 60s sci fi when I was a teenager.  But I just am not flexible-minded enough these days to deal with fantasy anything.

I can’t bear fantasy (in the broad sense) movies or tv shows, books or magazines…  I like a simple, realistic, compelling, linear story based in a real world place.  I definitely enjoy books based in other countries and, sometimes, other time periods.  But I can’t do different planets or the future.

I will say that, as a 30-something, I loved Star Trek Next Generation.  I watched Voyager for awhile…  But STNG, sci fi that it is, is pretty reality-based.  Many of their plot lines would work fine in the US in the 21st century, for instance.

So, I guess I would have to say genres in the fantasy/sci fi realm…  just can’t do it these days, but I’m sure I’m missing a lot of fun stuff.

Happy Reading!  Ruby

16 Comments

  1. Mary

    I’m another that has a problem with most science fiction and fantasy, but with a few exceptions, the most compelling of which are Connie Willis’s time travel novels. My favorite of those is The Doomsday Book. I first listened to it as an audible book and loved it so much that I bought it for my Kindle so that I could actually read it. For the most part, I’m not much of a re-reader but again, there are exceptions.

    • Hi Mary: Reading your note made me remember that I really enjoyed the Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley. I guess that is defined as fantasy.

      As I was digging around trying to remember what book this was, I ran into a list of top fantasy books and it includes work by Gabriel Garcia Marquez… which made me acknowledge the fact that the magical realism so common in Spanish language literature is really fantasy. I’m not really a big fan of it (I enjoyed the book Like Water for Chocolate but not the movie…) but I do like some.

      All the best, Ruby

  2. Hi! Stopping by from the hop! Please come by and visit me @ http://www.gracedwithbooks.blogspot.com

    Have a great weekend!

  3. I chose science fiction too. It seems interesting but to hard to get really in to.

    Just stopping by from the blog hop, happy friday! New follower!
    Stop by: http://wordsontheshelf.blogspot.com/

  4. Just dropping by for the blog hop. I don’t read sci-fi or fantasy either. They just don’t appeal to me like historical fiction and romance does.

    My hop: http://moments-of-beauty.blogspot.com/2011/07/one-genre-thats-just-not-appealing.html.

  5. I’m not big on sci fi either, at least not the heavy robot/alien/space kind of stuff. I am a Voyager fan, though! It’s kind of lighter sci fi, though, like you said.

    Glad to have found you via the hop!

    • Hi Susan: Thanks for coming by – I liked Voyager (a female captain, wow!) and Next Generation. Very well done, I’ll be over in a minute! Happy reading, Ruby

  6. I liked science fiction as a child – before it was called sci fi. But I parted ways with it over “Stranger in a Strange Land.” I liked Heinlein’s earlier work. I tried Harlan Ellison, but just found it off-putting. When I read a book, I see myself as the protagonist. It doesn’t matter if the hero is male or female, I am somehow the “I” in the book. I just felt like an outsider with later science fiction.

  7. I just had cataract surgery and am having a very difficult time on the computer, but I gather you are trying to keep up with incoming and outgoing reading. Nice! I am trying to get rid of books, donating them to the library or sending them to soldiers or putting them on Paperback Swap and just yesterday started getting rid of books I HAVE NOT READ! This is partly due to my enjoyment of reading books on the Kindle. But I will never be without physical books, because some are not on the Kindle and I have a vow not to buy any Kindle books more than 9.99. I am also trying to read the books I have on my Kindle before reaching for more. Looking forward to reading your blog as my nearsightedness returns. It is far easier to type than read . . .
    Marilyn Sue

    • Hi Marilyn: Thanks for writing! Yes, I am trying to actually read my books… I’m a week in and have bought no new books and have been carefully reading some books that I had wanted to make time for. I’m enjoying reading with an eye toward writing about it.

      On another note – I see your Norwegian flag – is this in memory of the Norwegians lost in the recent massacre and/or are you of Norwegian descent? I am. I’ve lived in Norway and feel particularly sad for all the loss there this week.

      Thanks, Ruby

  8. Thanks for coming by my blog last week, sorry for this late reply. It is interesting that so many people chose sci-fi – I wonder why we ran out of patience with it? I think I will challenge myself to read more of it in the future just to make sure I’m not missing anything.

    I love this blog’s mission, I really need to read my books too, I hope to do that a lot more in this second half of 2011. I’m really getting a big TBR pile and it’s got to shrink!

    • Hi Anja: Thanks for stopping by and writing! Yes, I agree sci fi probably deserves another look from me too… And let me know how working your way through TBR pile goes – happy to provide moral support and celebrate your victories! Happy reading, Ruby

  9. I really liked the article, and the very cool blog

Leave a Reply

