Friday Blog Hop by Crazy for Books

Dear Reader:

Another Friday, another blog hope sponsored by Crazy for Books.  Book blogger hops are designed to introduce and network book bloggers from around the web.  Whether or not you are a blogger, you can follow the link below, read what other bloggers have written, and find new blogs to check out.  Who knows, maybe it will inspire you to do your own book blog?

Book Blogger Hop

This week’s question is: “Highlight one book you have received this week (for review, from the library, purchased at the store, etc.) that you can’t wait to dig into!”


Ruh-roh….  hmmmmmmmm……..

Given my pledge to severely limit my acquisition of new books, this one is tough.  So, I’ll cheat a bit and talk about a Kindle sample I got – Marcel Proust: A Life by Edmund White.

I plan to spend some time on this blog, after my Bowen and Cather stints are done, blogging about reading Proust and to try my darnedest to show you why Proust is a really wonderful writer – not deserving of his reputation as only interesting to highbrow readers working on a literary theory dissertation.  I have the sense that this biography will fit the bill of being interesting, lively, not a long, long tome, and a nice complement to reading Remembrance of Time Past.

So, that’s the one I “got” this week that I’m most looking forward to reading.

What’s in your TBR (to be read) pile that you are dying to read?

Happy Reading, Ruby

20 Comments

  1. Hello! I’m hopping by. Love the blog! I do share your book addiction and have often tried little bans on myself (read 5 before buying 1 more…). So tough! So good luck to you!

    • Hi Becky: Thanks to you for checking out my blog. Great idea to set rules for reading a certain number before buying 1 more, I’ll have to think about instituting something like that in a year. Happy reading! Ruby

  2. No judging here. I do think I tried Proust once but don’t think I got very far. But everyone likes different things so why not?

    Happy reading!

    • Hi Leeswammes: Thanks for stopping by! I need to amend my post – nobody is judging me but myself, I just fear I’ll sound pretentious… Definitely, we all enjoy different stuff and that’s a good thing, Happy reading, Ruby

  3. Hopping by via the Blogger Hop. Hope you enjoy your book!

    Here’s MY BOOK BLOGGER HOP POST

  4. Brave person! I must admire you for taking a stand on acquiring more books. Good job!

    Here’s my Book Blogger Hop and Follow Friday for this week:
    BBH and FF: Bonjour! Enchanté! ¡Buenos días!
    And I hope you will stop in to throw your hat into the ring for my July Giveaway! Win a $25 Amazon gift card!

  5. Do love Proust. He is very funny at times and quite readable! Before venturing into the world of Kindle Proust (if you are considering that), read my blog http://kindleclassics.blogspot.com/2010/12/approaching-proust.html

    • Hi Marilyn: Thanks – I took a quick look at your post and will read carefully later. You helped me sort out what is going on with the different versions…

      It happens I have all books in pback by different publishers – 3 of the Penguin different translator ones, one in a 1932 translation (non-famous one), 1 old hard copy and 1 in the updated Moncreif… and I have the public domain one on my kindle. Thanks for the heads up on the problems, I may opt for downloading the ones you recommend and I never would have figured that out without you.

      I’ll come back this weekend and read more on your blog, thanks! Ruby

  6. I’ve seen a lot of interesting shirts on the different blogs. With the non-stop coverage of debt ceiling doomsday I’ve got to show you the t-shirt that describes me to a tee – at least this week! Follow me back to my blog and prepare to fall out of your chair laughing – http://www.howardsherman.net

    We’ve just gotta laugh, right? Life’s too short after all!

    Thank God it’s Follow Friday!

    Howard Sherman
    http://www.howardsherman.net

    • Hi Howard: Thanks for stopping by! I approached following your link with some trepidation and your t-shirt definitely made me laugh – the great thing is it is bipartisan (I think, anyway…), thanks, great blog – you look busy, happy reading (and writing), Ruby

  7. I’ve posted a picture of an adorable baby pickle. It’s an illustration from the book I’m highlighting. Please come see what book I’m reading!

    • Hi Pussreboots: Thanks for checking out my blog – I hopped over to yours and got a kick out of that Emily Strange/cat paper on the book, happy reading, Ruby

  8. Stopping through on book blog hop. I haven’t heard of the books you mentioned, and honestly, I don’t know that they would be completely interesting to me. But I think I’m going to follow your blog. It’s interesting. Happy Friday!

    • Hi Jon: Thanks for writing. As I learn about book blogs and blogging, I continue to be amazed at the diversity of blogs out there – definitely lots of blogs for all kinds of books, aren’t there? It’s great, I’ll be by your blog shortly, Happy Reading, Ruby

  9. Just dropping by for the blog hop. I haven’t heard of that book.

    My hop: http://moments-of-beauty.blogspot.com/2011/07/coming-soon.html

Leave a Reply

