The next book….

Dear Reader:

Should be Reading is hosting Musing Mondays – asking people to answer the following question: “How far into your current book do you get before thinking about the next book?”

My answer: I’m always thinking about the next book and the next book and the one after that…  I struggle to keep myself to just 2-3 books at a time.  I get more out of them that way, but as my british grandfather would say (paraphrasing) “My TBR is always bigger than my CBR*.”  How about you?  Happy reading, Ruby

*CBR = can be read.  OK, what he actually said was “Your eyes are bigger than your stomach.”  But you get the point.  🙂

8 Comments

  1. I’m always reading two or three books at the same time! It’s crazy.

    Thanks for this thoughtful question.

  2. Perfect comment… my CBR is way bigger than my TBR. I may have to use that one. 😉 My MM: http://etjrmbach.blogspot.com/2012/01/moving-from-one-book-to-next-musing.html

    • Hi Tia: thanks for writing. I suppose our ambition makes us strive to read more and more, a good thing even if we can never read fast enough to fulfill our ideal, ruby

  3. I actually don’t think about my next book until I finish the one I’m reading. I don’t enjoy starting a new book, I’m just waiting until I get caught up in the story. I love knowing my setting, and characters. I love books that capture me from the beginning.

    • Hi: I admire your focus – lately, I find myself hurrying through the last sections of books, wanting to finish and blog about them and move on to something new. But it is the best when you finish a book and are sad to let everybody go, isn’t it? Happy Reading, Ruby

  4. karin

    I have over 1700 files (some files have over 100 books in them) on my Kindle that I have bought over 3 years. I have only read 280 of them. So, you see my tbr is way over my cbr. I start 4 or 5 books, before settling in on that I will focus on until I finish it.

Leave a Reply

